Second lot of encaustic art...

...this time done with my large steam (with the steam facility turned off) iron since my new encaustic iron started blowing a fuse and turning my electricity off, as explained in yesterday's blip.

I was just getting the hang of the small encaustic iron and how to do the strokes and stuff when it failed on me yesterday. Getting used to my big steam iron meant learning a new set of skills and twisting and turning the iron, in order to paint the wax on the paper. So it did take me quite awhile to get the measure of the large holey household iron.

The first picture, top left...well the birds instead of the more delicate things I managed to do with the proper encaustic iron, now turned into huge lumbering Lancaster bombers flying in the sky...just pretend they are owls when you look at the first pic!

The second pic, the one on the right also had lumbering owls flying in the sky...you can't see them? That is because I scraped them out with the iron but in doing so, I scraped a bit too hard and you can see the iron marks. So I redid the sky and tried to do the spikey greenery, but I have not been able to get the hang of that with the large iron...yet!

The third pic, the middle one on the left went a wee bit wrong initially...it had three white clouds in the sky and out of each cloud came a huge lumbering Lancaster bomber/overfed owl...it looked rediculous. So I tried to scrape out the black monsters with the side of the iron and you can see I have made a bit of a mess of it if you look at the actual pic...I wasn't delicate enough. I had to redo the sky and I was quite happy with that (would have been even happier if it had been on a fresh piece of card), but I had swiped off the top of the tree on the left and has to rebuild it. All the trees were 'painted' with the tip of my large steam iron. The whole pic was with my large steam iron as were all these pics.

Picture number four, the one on the right in the middle has gone a little muddy. That is because it is about the sixth paintings done on that piece of card...the rest had bits swiped off with the edge of the large iron, and bits redone. Up to a point, about the fourth pic it had a ghostly feel behind the grasses, which I half liked. Then I lost it by keeping going. The moon was done by placing the finished artwork on the base plate of the iron (to heat that bit up) and an earplug pressed into the wax. Makes a lovely round moon.

Picture number 5, bottom left...at last...I can now control the tip of my large iron and get nice slim birds!!! So me a happy bunny.

Picture number 6 I am very very pleased with...why, you say...because with the tip of my large household steam iron I have painted two people in the middle distance walking!!! Remember this pic is only 6 inches by 4 inches!

So these are my efforts for today in encaustic art, and my contribution to my challenge to myself of (at least) a pic a day every day in 2017.

By the way, I loved it yesterday when some of you said which your favourite/s out of the 6 were. You are quite welcome to do that today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.