The Seven Wonderful Cats

I was doing some laundry in the basement on this day, and I walked past a stack of books downstairs. This one - a childhood favorite, possibly my VERY favorite! - was on top. And just for fun, I pulled it out to have a look.

The book tells the story of Dame Wiggins of Lee and her seven wonderful cats. The charming little cats catch mice, go to school, take to the sea in rowboats, do the mending, and skate on a frozen river.

They also sit in the walnut tree and sing with the birds. And they rescue a poor little sick lamb who has lost its mother (possibly my favorite part - such GOOD and compassionate cats!). The pictures of the little cats having various adventures are simply marvelous.

Here's the full reference for the book: The Seven Wonderful Cats, retold by Wallace C. Wadsworth, with illustrations by Elizabeth Webbe; a Rand McNally Elf Book, copyright 1956.

It is available on amazon for a mere $5 (I don't know if this link may work for U.S. audiences only). It is a retelling of an older tale, and you may look at a much earlier version of the story (from 1823) here.

For the soundtrack song, I wanted a tune with the word cats in it. And here is a favorite. Harry Chapin wrote the tune: Cat's in the Cradle. And here is also a fine cover of the same tune by country music legend Johnny Cash.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.