The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Seend Cleeve (Sunday 26th February 2017)

I broke my journey between Devizes and Melksham to visit the canal again, this time parking before I reached the bridge that leads on to the entrance to the Barge Inn at Seend Cleeve.
While I was driving through Devizes, incidentally, I drove over the canal bridge at the top of Caen Hill and saw the cygnet on the top pond near the Moorings, so it hasn't left its parents to find a new territory yet after all.
I also saw two red kites in the air near the centre of Calne at the start of my journey (a couple of weeks ago the peregrine on the church tower had to beat one away to hang on to its pigeon lunch, I'm told).
It was another grey, desultory day and the birds were wisely tucked away. There are a handful of locks on either side of the bridge and I walked up to the first heading north and a couple in the other direction, but the light was dull and I wasn't pleased with any of the pictures. This is the last one that I took, looking back towards the bridge where the car was. The Barge is in the distance on the right, sporting its outdoor lamps.

.27.2.2017 (1123 hr)

Blip #2035 (#2285 including 250 archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #005
Blips/Extras In 2017 #048
Day #2530 (509 gaps from 26 March 2010)
LOTD #1270 (#1396 including 126 on archived blips

Taken with Pentax K-1 and Pentax HD P-D FA 28-105mm f/3.5-5.6ED DC WR lens

Canals series
Kennet and Avon Canal series
Landscape series
Seend Cleeve series

Lozarhythm of the Day:
Commander Cody and the Lost Planet Airmen - Wine Do Yer Stuff (1971)
Every Sunday morning listening to Cerys Matthews on 6 Music I hear something fresh and interesting that I didn't know before, so much so that I have been considering making every Sunday's LOTD a choice from her show. This week she played Bill Kirchen and Austin De Lone performing Wine Wine Wine (Do Your Stuff) from their recent album Transatlantica, but unfortunately I couldn't find a version online to stream. However, Bill Kirchen was the lead guitarist in Commander Cody's Lost Planet Airmen when they recorded the same song for their first album, Lost In The Ozone, in 1971, so here is their studio version of the song, written by lead singer Billy C Farlow and pianist Commander Cody..

One year ago:
The Old Forge (A daffodil)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.