Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

Burning the crosses

It's that time of year again, Shrove Tuesday swiftly followed by Ash Wednesday tomorrow.
Again, I was faced with the challenge of producing ash from last year's palm crosses.

I had a cunning plan this year; I was leading the Scout programme, so half the troop made pancakes and the other considered how to produce fine black ash from palm crosses on a High Fire Risk day.

This is Mr C, a fine parent helper, who kept the kids focused long enough to achieve the pure black stuff. Then he piled the left over crosses in together and had himself a wee methlylated spirit fueled bonfire!
Please observe the firewater - just in case!

At closing parade, one of the scouts said our prayer, and gave thanks for burning the cross. I just watched all the eyebrows on waiting parents' faces shoot up!
I wonder if they were imagining the kids wearing white sheets at the same time!

I have dug out the link to last year's ash saga.
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2141657071412580161

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.