Sabbatical - Day 1

Well, the question is ... Can you have a Sabbatical if you're retired?

"Sabbatical leave is defined as a time period in which a person does not report to his regular job but who remains employed with that company."
Well, yes: I'm still retired, but away from my normal mundane routine.
I suppose it's semi-true in that, being a disorganised old cus, I've been informed that Clicky has been appointed "Events Organiser".
AND
Since said Organiser is away on a 4-day course, that left Jerra & I at a loose end. 
Ergo, can it  really be a Sabbatical - since we were told it would be a good idea to get in some Bro-time together?
The idea was primarily to divert me, but basically to "Swan about" where the spirit moved for 3-4 days.
Since I'm Back-Blipping again I can report that, whilst mostly places Alice & I visited, it came to include places both  "he" hadn't been & I hadn't been either. 
Today started with "he hadn't been" in a visit to Eggleston Hall Gardens near Barnard Castle for the usual formula of wander & bite/cuppa. Thence, with time to spare, a journey home via a stop off at Barnard Castle itself: where, it transpired, neither of us could remember visiting; though I seem to remember Alice wanting to.

Since I am on record as being nothing short of FOUL in the memory Dept. I shall log the purchase of an "Arum Italicum" as a fact that both Al & I liked Arums and have/had none.
As I knew, literally, nothing of the town I went hunting, and found
"Market cross or butter market. At various times also Town 
Hall, court room, lock-up and fire station. Dated 1747. Built 
at the expense of Thomas Breaks. Ashlar with roofs of 
graduated slates. Octagonal plan."  here if anybody's interested.


As nothing more than a note to me, lest I forget.
I'm well chuffed at removing a pair of substantial Bollards, plus most of a temporary looking sign telling us of a 
"Restricted right turn ahead at Market cross proceed with care".
Why there's a temporary sign placed at a permanent road-state I'll leave to the imagination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.