What?!? WOW!!!!!

We moved to Penrith on 2nd June 1978. We got so used to the Beacon that we tended, after a while to become so accustomed, we didn't look.
It, eventually, became invisible and in 2011 I climbed up there to make sure it was till there, https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1267641
and merely obscured by trees. I had to cheat that day and blatantly steal somebody else's view, since I didn't get one.
Today I had the Volvo S&OH + "MoT ed". I took the last available 646 bus to Townhead and arrived early enough to fall asleep in their waiting room.
Mission, finally, accomplished I set off home. As I paused  where Lark Lane met the A6 I had an idle gaze around before I checked traffic; (The Lane being a Cul-de-Sac. (YES that is a valid "word".)
I nearly collapsed from sheer shock at the sight of the beacon thus.
Just in case it was a change of viewpoint, I checked at home - almost identical; which is where I took this one.
It seems the beacon was so unprepossessing that I have not ONE shot of it from "down here" and had to climb it for a decent view of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.