It just has to be...

...golden syrup on my pancakes!

When we were children, golden syrup was a real treat and oft used by mum in her baking.  Probably as a result of war rationing when parents were deprived, we children of the fifties were brought up with sweet things - rose hip syrup in baby's dummies and daily stops at the sweet shop on the way home from school.  Bob and I would go down to the shops on Saturday tea times to get two quarters of Riley's Chocolate Toffee Rolls - one quarter milk chocolate (for Bob and Mum) and one quarter plain (for Dad and me), then the pop wagon would come up the street and we would take out our empties and choose another bottle each, usually Dandelion and Burdock for me or American Cream Soda.  We were then ready for the family evening in front of the television!
 
All of this is probably the reason why I have such awful teeth!

So, it being Pancake Day, it was out with the golden syrup for me and raspberry jam for Tony.  In my defence, I did have three portions of fruit as dessert!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.