Let's play - Let's pretend.

Let's pretend these Staffordshire Oatcakes are really Pancakes.
I was snuck up on.

"Why do we have pancakes on Pancake Day?
Pancake Day always takes place on the day before Ash Wednesday, which is the first day of the Christian season of Lent in the run up to Easter. Traditionally, Shrove Tuesday was a day for using up food that could not be eaten during Lent, which was a time for fasting".

Shrove Tuesday snuck up on me with a vengeance, this year.
I'll miss Alice's Pancakes & haven't had time to risk trying to learn, which I might do - eventually.
I happened to have some Oatcakes in the freezer, 
but
no Cheese :¬( 
AND
no mushrooms :¬(
Either, or both, of which were regular accompaniments to the bacon in our usual any time of year fare.
Pancake day was different, but I hadn't any of the usual "stuff".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.