Pour me a Tree.

When they get to a respectable size, the Monkey Puzzle Tree always looks, to me, as though it has either been poured out or part melted and reset.
I knew enough to give it its Latin handle and a rough location, but very little else; so I thought I'd look it up.
It may be endangered "at home" but it seems far from a rarity over here.
Just checked (31-07-17) I was right, it used to be "Araucaria imbricata
"Araucaria araucana (commonly called the monkey puzzle tree, etc.) is an evergreen tree growing to 1–1.5 m (3–5 ft) in diameter and 30–40 m (100–130 ft) in height. It is native to central and southern Chile and western Argentina. Araucaria araucana is the hardiest species in the conifer genus Araucaria.

Because of the longevity of this species, it is described as a living fossil  Its conservation status was changed to Endangered by the IUCN in 2013 due to the dwindling population."

I'm not 100% sure, but I think I've just experienced my 1st, official, Blipmeet.
With customary skill and efficiency I have both more shots than I know what to do with and many not fit to face the public. Early in our circuitous wander around Aira Force I spotted a HUGE Monkey Puzzle which caught my eye and I'll guess most of the group will outshine any of my Waterfall shots, due in part to a faulty Camera/Lens connection on the trusty old  EOS 450D.
Well best wander, to date since the Stamina- rebuild commenced. I'm sitting doing the write-up at 20:30(ish) and have clocked up 7,304, with an hour or four to go till kip o'clock, so with my propensity for wandering into a room, then retracing my steps to remember why I went there, I ought to get a record reading today. 
Pleased to report:-
1. I'm still vertical.
2. The old legs are still functioning in the prescribed manner.
3. I don't think the Wii© will be required tonight, in order to up the total for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.