First Day of Spring!

Spent the morning writing a report for an ex-supervisee. Some people never let you retire!  Had an ECG test this afternoon  -  just part of my annual check-up.  Was told I had the heart of an 18-year old.  So with such a heart I tootled off down to the Nature Reserve Visitor’s Centre  -  being the official first day of Spring according to the Met Office I thought there might be something exciting happening down there. Enjoying the sun was the Kingfisher on his usual post. It was difficult to get a sharp shot because the breeze was causing heavy ripples on the water which seemed to upset the camera.  I was on Auto so I decided to change over to Shutter Speed and a faster shutter speed to combat that problem. Sod’s Law  -  he’s always around when you want to do something different  -  the moment I completed that operation the bird had disappeared. I waited a quarter of hour but still no sight of him. In the meantime little 4-year-old Michael showed me how to use the microscope and explained what all the bugs were that he was loading. Had another look, but still no Kingfisher.  My extra shows another of him in a bunker which must be purpose built for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.