Rodents rule

By squirk

Who said cats don't like water?

Juno's spent a lot of time out and about in the rain. The shower wasn't on when he was in it, but there was water under his paws. He doesn't mind.

I got up in time (ridiculously early) to travel to Euston and meet Fred, but the sleeper train was already at the platform when I arrived and Fred wasn't answering his phone (I was trying to be sneaky and surprise him, so he wasn't expecting me). Hmmm. We both have phones with a "Find my Friend" function and I could see the dot of his phone lingering in a part of Euston station. Rush hour was in flow and the concourse was busy but, thankfully, I spotted him in the queue at Boots. Phew! I managed to surprise him after all. He'd had a good trip to Inverness and a better, longer sleep than I'd had.

It was really cold at work (the heating shuts down at the weekend and it's a large, open-floor office). In desperation, I did the rounds of the clothes shops at lunch looking for an Emergency Cardigan. I didn't love anything enough to buy it (too long, horrible material, unnecessary slits up the sides, buttons up the back, peachy colours), so I steeled myself for drinking a lot of hot tea during the afternoon. Too late in the hour, I realised that I should have gone to the charity shop in Endell Street. Next time. Except I will remember to layer up from now on.

Before heading back to the office, I bought some headache pills (I had a small one today). In the checkout queue, I heard my name. I turned around and scrutinised every face behind me (quite a few) until I recognised an old friend. He was also buying headache pills. Maybe it's something about Monday and cold, open-plan offices (he works two floors below me in a different part of the company, so I rarely see him). We're going to lunch on Thursday, sans headaches (paws crossed). Maybe the rest of the queue will come, too, as we discussed this all in front of them, loudly. We probably gave them headaches.

We watched the final episode of Taboo – a dark but fascinating series. Tom Hardy's extremely watchable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.