adyclick

By adyclick

Roman York.

Had to go into town today to buy a book on our fair city, but in Italian, to send to the kind gentleman I keep referring to in Tivoli. so I took my camera to shoot one of the few Buildings from Eboracum (Roman York) that are still standing today.
The Multiangular tower which stands in the Museum gardens was built between AD 209 -and 211 while Septimus Severus was Emperor.
My blip shows both the inside and outside.
It has ten sides to it and stands nearly thirty feet high. There were originally 8 towers, and we are told that only the lower section of the tower is Roman, and, only a small section of the bar walls has been accepted as Roman, I believe it to be at the back of Aldwark somewhere.

I really struggled to get what I wanted, there was nothing about Roman York on it's own, so I eventually, after going to all the book shops finally bought a book on our city's history, and it's in Italian. So, along with a few other goodies, I'll get that off to him tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.