Pictorial blethers

By blethers

At the fish van

I took lots of lovely Spring-hopeful photos in Benmore Gardens today - the sun was shining and a surprising number of rhododendrons in full bloom - but this snatched shot as I waited to buy fish at the van that comes to the next street every Wednesday morning seemed more interesting, if only because I've not taken one like this before.

In fact, I rarely go to the fish van: it became Mr PB's job when he retired a year before me, and over the 12 or so years since then I've probably only bought the fish three times. Indeed, the man who is being served asked me today, as he did the last time, why I was there. He sounded quite indignant until I explained that a badly-timed dental appointment was the culprit.

It's a real old-fashioned retail experience, choosing what you're going to buy as the other customers wait in the street. The fish is wonderful, and there's a selection of fruit and veg that everyone swears is far better than in the shops. I bought haddock, salmon, two handfuls of small, clean potatoes and a box of eggs from a local supplier on the Ardentinny road.

But it's not my job, and I'll not be there next week ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.