Draped.....

....along our fence, like a curtain flowing on a light breeze, rolling patterns of differing shades, just happen to catch my eye today.

A very gentle sway this morning at 8am, a couple of creaks but otherwise I'd be none the wiser the earth was moving. However, Daughter E was in Christchurch waiting on a red traffic light to change, she didn't enjoy the car erratically moving, it's the unknown which can be frightening.

Going back.....it was 30 years today the Edgecumbe earthquake struck in the Bay of Plenty of the North Island. Mum rushed outside and sat on the lawn with the rubbish tin lid on her head, it was instinct and something she's never done since. Dad was on the other side of the Whakatane river wondering if mum was alright and hoping he would be able to cross the bridge. I was in Hamilton miles away working in the Post Office in a three/four story building swaying knowing that something had happened.

Edgecumbe earthquake a 6.5 earthquake, occurred just after 1:42 pm at a shallow depth of approximately 8 km causing extensive damage to the towns of Edgecumbe, Kawerau and my home town of Whakatane.

30 years on.....the earth is still moving and will continue to do so, it's the nature of the land upon which we live.

Abstract Thursday for me was about light, shades and a little motion.

Happy Thursday everyone :)

Edit: I'm hoping to thank you all over the next few days for my 7 year blip celebration. It's going to take a while so bear with me and know that your words are very much appreciated :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.