ABSTRACT THURSDAY

It was such a beautiful day today but rather windy, so Mr. HCB decided not to go out into the garden but said it would be good to go out for a drive, but I had to choose where we went - in fact, his clever comment was “It’s your Choose-day although it’s Thursday!”

As I have seen so many beautiful Hellebores on Blip just recently, I decided I would like one, but they are rather expensive.  However, when we got to Wyevale Garden Centre at Lechlade we found out from a very kind assistant named Liz, that although they were £14.99 each, they were two for £20, so all that remained was to choose two out of the many varieties, which we managed eventually, so no doubt they will be blipped in due course.

As we were going to pay, I saw a small polythene greenhouse and it so happened that Mr. HCB had said only yesterday that he would like one so that he could transfer all his seed trays once the plants were coming up well.  As it’s his birthday in April and I never know what to buy him, I thought it would be a good idea to get this whilst we were there today.  He didn’t refuse so birthday present sorted!

My Blip is a titivated version of some beautiful Primulas at the garden centre - but I haven’t touched the colour at all - they really were that bright and beautiful - cue for a song there, I think!  

We met several people and had some lovely garden and bird-related chats - then on our way home found a gateway where we sat and ate our lunch, overlooking a field near Hannington.  I saw what I believe are withies, used to thatch cottages - so have put this in as an extra, so you can see what a glorious day it was.

Back home the Hellebores are planted in two blue pots in our front garden, so that I can see them from the kitchen window, and Mr. HCB is upstairs finishing off his jigsaw puzzle.  What a lovely day - couldn’t have done all that if we had been at work - it’s such a joy being retired.

"Colours are the smiles
     of nature."
James Henry Leigh Hunt 
(1784-1859)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.