THE DEMISE OF A BEAUTIFUL TREE

After the high winds a few days ago, Mr. HCB and I noticed that the tree on a verge near the bus stop opposite where we live had split even further - the trunk had been split almost at ground level for many years but we always enjoyed seeing its shimmering leaves during the summer, which looked almost silver when the sun caught them.  We shall miss this tree!

I had decided yesterday that for Wide Angle Wednesday, I would go and blip the tree.  However, when I came back into the bedroom from the bathroom this morning, I could hear chain saws, so looked out of the window and was dismayed to see that the tree was being cut down.  I have never moved so fast, getting dressed and shouting to Mr. HCB and his friend, Keith, who were in the conservatory having breakfast, that I needed to go over and take some photographs because the tree was being felled.

When I got over there, I spoke to one of the men and asked him what sort of tree it was - he said it was an Aspen - or Populus tremula - a deciduous broadleaf tree, which is native to the UK and most of Europe.  He said they made matches from this particular tree - and judging by the amount of wood, there could be a good few matches made.

I explained that I was going to come and take photographs of the tree today and hoped he didn’t mind me taking photographs while the men worked - he said that was fine, so here is a collage of the demise of the Aspen tree.  

Whilst I was there, another of the workmen came over to speak to me about the “lake” that had formed round a dead tree a few feet away - he said there must be something going on underneath, as the water was simply not draining away.  He told me the dead tree was an oak, but they weren’t doing anything about that one today.  I think I need to go over and take photographs of this one before it’s felled.

So by 8.30 I had my blip sorted and now I have all day to myself - Mr. HCB is going to plant a few seeds and potter in the greenhouse and garden, so until we have our Games  & Pizza Evening later with friends, I can do what I like - housework is NOT on the cards!

The tree that gave us so much pleasure
     in spring, summer, autumn and winter
          is now gone - 
its branches shredded
     before the buds 
          had time to grow and change - 
but no-one can take away the memory
     of its gnarled and spreading trunk
          or its beautiful shimmering leaves.
When someone is taken from our lives -
     whether young or old
         no-one can take away 
              the precious memories that
                   they leave behind
in our hearts.

© Maureen Iles - 1/3/17

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.