Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Junction

I thought I'd blipped this spot before, as it's one of my favorite bridges on the canal, but a quick check of my canal blips suggests not.

9yo has started a new early morning club at school, which pleasantly disrupts the usual commute sufficiently to make it worth walking along the canal to Shipley station rather than kicking my heels at Baildon for half an hour. I must remember my big boots next week though, the towpath was a swamp.

I bumped into a couple of pairs of Goosander along the way, and the pair of Mute Swans at Dockfield Road looked like they were getting ready for spring.

Which brings us back to bridge 208, or Junction Bridge, which lies at the junction of the Leeds-Liverpool Canal with the former Bradford canal, which you can see opening up to the left. The bridge was built in 1774, and you can still walk over it if you want a sneaky shortcut to Dock Lane  (and for me, the dentist). Originally it enabled horses to be walked over from one towpath to another, and the derelict building behind was a toll office and bargeman's barracks.

All of which presented a pleasant diversion on the way into work, which was productive, so self-care strategies are in order.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.