Spring Bus Challenge No 119!!

Avon Valley Railway, Bitton

"Opened in 1869 by the Midland Railway as a through-route between Birmingham and the South Coast the line was later linked to the iconic Somerset & Dorset Railway. Closed under the Beeching Axe of the 1960's the Avon Valley Railway was preserved by an enthusiastic group of volunteers. Today, 40 years on, three miles of track has been re-laid, locomotives and carriages restored, and the sound of steam can once again be heard along the Avon Valley." www.avonvalleyrailway.org

Today the sun finally shone, and today I finally started to feel a little better! So this morning I met up with my Bus Challenge friend and took the short bus ride to Bitton on the eastern outskirts of Bristol, for a cuppa, cake and a catchup, aboard Rose, one of Avon Valley Railway's two static 1950s carriages.

An hour later I was back home again, but as the sun was still shining and it finally felt like Spring, I then spent an hour pruning the roses in the garden. Having not been out of the house for the last eight days, I think I may have overdone things today. Tomorrow will be a quiet day...

Total bus journey time = 20 mins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.