Nothing like a sense of humor...

The first load was perfect along with a beautiful ride..

The second load?
Somebody forgot to turn off the cement loader after the full buzzer went off. 30 seconds later.. cement was coming out of places on the trailer that I didn't know it could.. They had to clean up that mess..

I get to the delivery and told the manager I am about to make a mess but don't worry, I will clean it up. Little did I know what was to happen next..

I started cleaning out the lines and sure enough half the cement went on the ground and the other half went up the silo.. I was ready to pressurize the tank and start unloading... 

Halfway pressurized a seam broke. A big beautiful fountain of cement start to flow into the sky..  I have to admit I was in awe for a moment.. The yelling from two men telling me to shut it off snapped me back.. Yep a big mess indeed...Once the flow stopped I got in to the truck and made the call to the boss.. 

I just glance over and saw this control box and smiled.. This box is the first warning in a system saying the silo is full and if you continue you will blow the top off... The top red light is very bright letting people around you know what is going on. The series of red lights is each silo had its own full level warning light. Since multiple people unload at the same time you can quickly tell who needs to shut down unloading. The the green light just says everything is ok. The button next to it silences the 120 decibel alarm going off if you fill a silo. Then...

Somebody had fun with the next switch. I have no idea what it is / was for but after what was going on.. pressing for coffee sounded good..

A roll of duct tape, a multitude of buckets and things got stabilized enough for the shop to do a temporary repair tonight.. Tomorrow I try to unload again...  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.