Flower Friday . . . In memory of

the destructive earthquake that shook Christchurch on 22 February 2011.
This morning I visited the Canterbury Earthquake National Memorial or Oi Manawa which means tremor or quivering of the heart.  I think it is a beautiful and reflective space beside the river Avon.  By walking down the ramp to it you have a sense of leaving the streets of the city and entering a quieter place.  The river, the trees, and today the sunshine made it a tranquil space. 
Some of the words inscribed on the wall:
We offer our thanks:
To those who came for us
To those who risked their lives
for ours and
To those who supported us.
Together we are stronger.    


I will be taking another absence from blip because I am going to Fiordland for seven nights on a boat.  I am part of a group of eight who are going to explore Preservation Inlet.  It is the southern most fjord in Fiordland National Park.  Last year I was on the same boat but in Breaksea Sound and Dusky Sound.  I was pleased with my photos from that trip but this time I have my technical adviser/son in law coming too. He has just bought a Fuji X-Pro2.  I will be able to get some tips and observe :-)       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.