The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Life is what happens when...

you are making other plans. This morning is a good case in point. I thought I'd go to Goodwill and leave off a big pile of stuff I've been collecting for them. While there I'd check out their stuff to see what cool clothes I might find on the cheap. So I stepped into the garage and this is what I saw.

Ah. Well. Looks like that plan won't happen. And I was in no mood to fix my own tire. So I called my insurance broker to see if I had roadside coverage. I did. And my garage did qualify as "roadside." They texted me who would do the job and when they'd arrive. Only problem was their arrival time was right about when my 1:00 meeting would start. So I called the towing company and told them my story. Soon I got a text from them and they were there within 20 minutes. I met them in the alley so they could find our house and very quickly the fellow changed the tire to my funky all rubber spare. Then I drove down to Les Schwab and they fixed the tire just in time for me to get to my support group meeting. It is very lucky I thought I'd go to Goodwill. Otherwise I'd never have known the tire was flat until it was too late.

After the support group I headed to Silverado and spent a couple of hours with Arvin. I stayed for dinner. Since I've been eating there I've gained back the weight I lost in Belize. Sigh. Oh well.

Arvin seemed much happier today. I think his meds are kicking back in and he is much less depressed. He still wanted to come home with me. But several times during the afternoon he mentioned how nice Silverado is and how friendly and nice everybody there is. What a difference. Now I realize he must have been off his meds for longer than i thought. Not only was he less depressed. He also ate much better, and did yesterday too. He has been losing weight. Now I expect he will stay the same or even put a pound or two back on again. That would not be a problem. It is all a great relief for me. We spent about 45 minutes snuggling again. It really makes him feel good when I rub his hair, hug and snuggle with him. Me too by the way. And we had a good time at dinner too. He wasn't too happy when I headed home, but I promised I'd visit again tomorrow which I will. My plan is to take him out for a walk if the weather is permitting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.