Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Episcopal swanning ...

And of course, it's not a bishop at all, though I know a most photogenic and entertaining bishop as well as some perfectly ordinary ones ... But these swans live in the Bishop's Glen above Dunoon, and the glen is presumably named for the bishops who had their residence in Dunoon around 1479, as will be the hill above, the Bishop's Seat.

I used to walk in this area far more than I do now, with small children, with larger children on bikes, with a friend who lived at the bottom of the glen road; now I find I'm rarely here. A big part of this is the increase in the numbers of dogs and the consequent mess which their owners seem to think is fine as long as it's at the side of the path - taking this photo involved a hazardous trek over some rough grass. And then there are the dogs that are "just friendly ..."

Grrr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.