More hand-crafted

I did not venture out on yet another gloomy, cold day and spent the day creating a Journal of our South African visit. So it is appropriate that I post a picture of the one gift I brought back for myself.
 
I saw this bag and loved it immediately. It is hand-embroidered and just wonderful. It is beautifully made and even has tiny beads on the handles.
 
Kaross 
Sitting on a kaross (blanket) over 25 years ago, a group of ladies started creating works of art unique to themselves and their background - a reflection of their culture, celebrating their heritage. It was that moment which threaded together Kaross’ vision of helping people to grow and realise their potential.
   
The company still creates all kinds of textiles and provides work for women in the rural areas of the country. This is their website if you want to see some of them. I love the vibrant colours and patterns and textures – they seem to me to embody the essence of South African culture

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.