Off centre, but focussed

This woodpigeon hung around my bench at lunchtime. It wasn't after my sandwich, though, but was snacking on what looked to me to be a euphorbia. She'd been eating berries prior to this because her face and chest feathers were stained pink with juice.

I had the park to myself. The temperature dropped a fair few degrees today and it had rained in the morning, which meant that the park wasn't an attractive option to most. It was perfect for me and my book. I started a new one today after finishing the excellent Kingmaker, Kingbreaker books. I've begun Iain M Banks' The Player of Games, the intro of which was read by the author at World Book Night and whetted my appetite for more.

I met Fred on the cycle home and we had alcoholic ginger beer at The Rye and fish and chips in East Dulwich. Fred will be on a new cycle route next week since his office is moving to St Paul's. We'll have to plan new meeting, drinking and eating places, and piece together more bits of South London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.