But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Crawley Aqueduct.

I’m coming to the conclusion that I’m spending too much time tinkering with various techniques rather than actually producing pictures, the problem is that I do rather enjoy it. But then, with fingers in so many pies, I often run out of time to do the important things – like posting a suitable Blip. I just about got away with it today with this repeat of a picture I posted about a year ago but then, the sun was stronger and reflecting off some large puddles. This section of the Crawley Aqueduct which supplied water from Glencorse Reservoir to Edinburgh is the home of a pony. His “field” is approximately 7 metres wide by 300 long and, although it is quite badly poached at this end, we rarely see him.
 
Just off to the left is the old curling pond, now overgrown and serving as a nature reserve. It is a long time since we’ve seen enough ice to support a man, let alone two teams of curlers – the last time that happened was, if memory serves me correctly, January 1982 when we had to take drastic measures to prevent our pipes from freezing. Winters like that seem to be a thing of the past - that’s climate change for you.
 
On the garden bird front, the jackdaw featured last Saturday doesn’t seem to have survived, but we have seen a similarly afflicted one four times since then. He’s not as badly affected, but I fear that it’s only a matter of time. I’ve posted pictures and questions on the RSPB Facebook page but not had any response; it would be nice to know more, it may be that we can reduce its incidence by some simple measure – like changing the way we feed them, though I think that it may just be old age. I’ll report back if I do find out anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.