But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Fruit of the Chestnut.

Went back to the chestnut trees again today and found this tiny fern growing out of the trunk of one of them; it makes a change from the various mushrooms that eke a meagre living out of the habitat. I was initially attracted by the sunlight on it, but the lighting turned out to be too harsh so I used off camera flash which, surprisingly, had a much softer effect – even without a diffuser.
I did take a documentary picture of this tree, but felt that it was too like the one I took yesterday of its sibling.
 
I borrowed a slightly upper class magazine from the Camera club last week as in, people bring in the comics that they’ve finished with and dump them on a chair before walking away. It had an interesting article on split toning, a technique I’ve never considered using before; but then I’d not realised that it could be subtle. The last sentence of the article was along the lines of, “You don’t need to change the world, but just enhance it a little.” I used it here and it seemed to lift the blip out of the very mediocre into the realms of moderately mediocre. I can see myself frequently using the effect just a little.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.