Blipper's Daily (?)

By blipper

0.2 Frames a Minute

Out at the Necropolis today putting my new toy through it's first paces and experiencing some sssssllllllloooooowwwww photography.

Took me 50 minutes to take a total of 10 frames (1800 fold slower than the 6 frames a second on my D7000!), still got a whole two frames left to shoot tomorrow (12 frames of 6 x 6 on the 120 film) before I can develop the roll and check that everything works OK.

Managed to confuse a few folk who saw me standing there with the camera and graciously waved me to take the shot before they walked into my frame...

'It's OK', says I, 'go ahead it will take me 5 minutes so you go first'

'Errrr, OK mate' came the uncertain (and confused) reply.

1. Wander about to choose the best angle.
2. Set up the tripod and fix the Mamiya to it.
3. Frame the shot (remembering left to right is actually right to left and vice versa).
4. Focus on the screen.
5. Flip up the magnifier to check focus and adjust.
6. Walk over to the subject
7. Turn on the light meter and take an incident meter reading
8. Walk back to the camera and set shutter speed and aperture from the light meter
9. Use the same setting to take a test shot with the digital camera (just to check the light meter calibration is OK....still getting used to it).
10. Wind on the film with the crank
11. Cock the shutter
12. Wait until everyone has walked out of shot
13. Check the light meter again to make sure the settings have not changed whilst doing all of the above
14. Depress the shutter
15. Repeat the above

0.2 frames a minute is pretty fast really....


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.