Stars for Silly Saturday

I had to cut out some colourful stars to put this silly blip together, so the splash of colours will go with David’s CMC17. (OK – I changed my mind about the cutting out . . . )
 
 
So a bit of a silly star rant for Silly Saturday.
 
 
The star award system we have now serves a good purpose, but  is it as good as the old five star system?  The downside of the old system was that so many would just award five stars come-what-may, which rather defeated the point of five stars, and I think some may have done that in the hope of getting five stars back.  I used to feel bad about giving less than five stars as this seemed to be the norm.
 
The one star says ‘I like this blip/photo’, but why do I like it, and how much?  And we mostly seem throw them out like confetti, just like the old ‘five stars’.
 
My personal approach is to give a star when I have commented on a regular ‘following’, and where appropriate enhance my comments with particular praise etc.  Not necessarily for the quality of the photo, but for the ‘blip’ as a whole.  This, apart from anything else, gives me a book mark to say I’ve been here already . . .  Alternatively I will leave a star without comment where I spot something I particularly  like, usually for the photograph, and usually to someone that I don’t usually follow – a quick “Hello, I like this”.
 
Favs on the other hand are a different thing altogether.  I give very few of these, and only when I’ve been particularly impressed with a blip/photo, or for a special occasion, or where I have accidentally caught the ‘fav’ icon on the telephone (most annoying!).
 
Rant over . . .  (I’ve been dieing to get that off my chest for ages – now to update my profile)


Thanks as ever to Admirer for hosting Silly Saturday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.