Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

North by west

Day 32 has arrived. Today I complete the Boxing the Compass project. That is, naming the 32 compass points in sequence, clockwise starting at North.

The object of the exercise was to try to improve my photography and learn more about my home town. I'm not sure about the former but I have managed the latter.

Each day since 1st of August, using Glossop town centre as the start point I have drawn a line on the map following the compass direction. I have then taken a photograph somewhere along that line.

This has proved difficult some days but mostly I have found a new angle on a familiar scene or an interesting detail and occasionally somewhere I never knew existed.

Many of the photographs I have taken each day did not qualify to be my Blipfoto as I set out that that photo had be in the direction I was travelling. I took many better photographs in other directions.

Perhaps I'll publish a book 'Blipfoto rejects'.

This final scene from Cemetery Road in Glossop gave me the chance to include a section of beautiful heather moorland in Longdendale over the villages of Padfield and Tintwistle.

Tomorrow ?

Perhaps I will just continue one more day and go back North.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.