Breasting the surf en route to the fishing grounds

Every morning I have been awoken by the call of a golden oriole from the temple garden next door but I still haven’t managed to see him.  The bathroom geckoes have deserted their post and I am now rested and ready for the next journey tomorrow. Today I walked north along the fishermen’s boat beach which is also used as an open air latrine and rubbish tip – so sad.  Several boats came in with a catch of tuna on board – only 4 -7 in the ones I saw – and I watched as other boats had large boxes of ice tipped in their hold ready for the day’s fishing.  The auctions of fish happen very quickly with lots of gesticulating and shouting and then the women throw down their bowls and put the fish in – today three tuna was the maximum one woman could carry.  I walked on for a couple of miles where there was hardly any rubbish on the beach – two dead turtles, some large jelly fish and two irritating boys of about 13 who decided to walk with me.  The OrissaPost newspaper headline today – 76.6% of the state households shit outdoors; only 14% have tap water; 19.5% draw water from a well; 61.5% use a hand pump; 35.4% have to walk a distance to fetch water – this in a population of   45,596,577 – there is a 75% literacy rate. Makes me so grateful for all I have...
My walk today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.