Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

why

This building is a couple of blocks away from my apartment. I have passed by here countless times, but I can't recall if this plant has always been there. The last time I walked by, a couple of weeks ago, I noticed it and the "why" above the door. (It was later in the day then, and while I took a photograph, the shadows were less to my liking.)

I have recently begun noticing details of buildings that I have walked past numerous times, and I've wondered why... is it because I'm on the same side of the street and unable to get the full scope of a building to see these details? Is it because I'm more scrutinous at the moment? Whatever the reason, I almost have a feeling of incompetence at first. As in, 'how in the hell did I miss that?!?

Today, I set out on a route that I have taken many times before, but as I walked, I thought about how luck plays so much into being able to record a particular subject. I was almost lucky when I decided to make a turn onto Folsom Street heading south near 13th Street. I say almost lucky because as I approached 13th, I came upon a woman who was dressed all in white and black. Her skirt (or perhaps she wore slacks... curse you, memory!) was striped, and her sweater/top had more of a pattern. I was about ten metres/thirty feet behind her and hoped to catch up to her as she crossed the next street. I wanted to catch all that black and white amidst the black and white stripes of a crosswalk. Much to my dismay, she turned in to Rainbow Grocery, so the photo never happened.

I sighed and momentarily considered waiting for her to come out. That's how much I wanted the photograph!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.