Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Benches

A friend from Nashville has been in the Bay Area for the last several days, staying with a friend north of the city, but they came in to the city with their kids to spend some time at the Academy of Sciences. So, we got together for a brief spell in the Music Concourse that separates the Academy and the de Young Fine Arts Museum.

There was a busker playing piano, and as I got closer, it became apparent to me that I had photographed him and his then-bandmate at an event a little over five years ago. I looked up my online gallery from the event and showed him one of the photos, and we had a brief conversation about that evening (a birthday party that was attended by Robin Williams).

I got home and took care of feeding my neighbour's cat, my cat, and myself, and went to bed a little early, watching YouTube videos of an old television program, What's My Line? I've been binge-watching the program since I discovered the channel a couple of weeks ago. I had watched the program as a kid, but the program preceded my birth by five years, and as it was on the air for seventeen years (in its original incarnation), I would have watched probably only about five years or so by the time I was 12. It's been both entertaining and interesting seeing the cultural differences between that time and today (I've so far watched only the first five years worth of episodes, 1950-1954), especially as regards the treatment of women and overweight people. In fact, one guest was introduced as being the owner of a "Fat Men's Store"... very alarming now, but apparently totally acceptable over sixty years ago.

Processed in Snapseed then Vinci.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.