Big Night Out

My first visit to Fife Ice Arena was just over 17 years ago to see Flyers play Basingstoke. Junior would have been 6. Nothing on TV that night, so getting out seemed like a good plan. He loved it. It grew on me.

We stopped going to see Flyers when they dropped out of the professional game. That was about the same time as Junior started playing his ice hockey for Murrayfield under 16s, so going to see Edinburgh Capitals became the new "good plan" - although Junior never took to it.

Of course at that age he either hated me or wanted nothing to do with me, or both.

When Flyers stepped up to be professional again, I just kept going to see Caps. Tonight they had a local derby at Flyers. I went into the sales office at lunchtime to buy an advance ticket. Saves queueing in the rain to get in later.

The Arena got Blipped.

A fantastic game with Caps winning 5:3, but goal 5 was an empty net goal with about 1 second left. It could have gone either way until then. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.