Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

My Father's Archives #18

The longer I study my father's photographs the more I admire his photographic skills. He never went for the spectacular, he always preferred the unpretentious look on life. As simple as this picture may seem, I find it spectacular in it's composition.
It was taken on the upper deck of a boat that travels from town to town along the Amazon. These boats (see extra) were made of wood and had two decks, where people would hang there hammocks . They crossed dangerous waters (the Amazon River is up to 300 km wide before it empties into de Atlantic), and you can imagine the panic and chaos during a storm. When these boats capsized, it was almost impossible to find your way out without getting entangled in ropes, hammocks, bags, and people. Nowadays, these boats have been replaced by big and very safe catamarans made of steel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.