Snapshots of reality

By ktbm

Pinch, punch, first of the month

Today I got up early and had a healthy breakfast of coffee, fruit, museli and frozen yoghurt before booking a ferry ticket for tomorrow. I then rented a scooter and set off for Stari Grad on the other side of the island. Stari Grad didn't really have much to see but there was a very nice beach with lots of lovely sea, and then I found a place to eat seafood pasta with loads and loads of seafood. It was tasty.

I then rode to Jelsa, a small town with not much to do in it and decided to go from there across to the other side through Pitve. This was a questionable decision, as the roads were described in the guidebook as 'hair-raising'. They started off just being narrow but then I found a tunnel which was practically a 1.5km pitch black cave with random rockfalls on the floor. Safe to say this wasn't the most fun thing to ride through, and then to come out to some steep hairpins on the other side! There were some good views though, but I did have to ride up the hairpins and back through the tunnel to get home. I was trying to beat the thunderstorm but didn't quite make it and arrived back at the rental place soaked to the bone and shivering. It then POURED it down, and I had to run back to the hostel up waterfalls and through floods!

In other news, Tom Cruise, Beyone and Jay-Z are rumoured to be in Hvar, and two newsreaders from Radio 1 are in the dorm next door and we were playing drinking games with them tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.