My Four Favorite Travel Memories

Dear Diary,

I challenged myself more than a week ago to try to come up with my 4 favorite travel memories after 27 years of globetrotting.  It was not easy as you might guess.  I finally settled on these four and they all involved walking!


The Great Wall of China: walking on the only man-made monument visible from space was amazing to say the least.


The Memorial at Ground Zero, Nagasaki, Japan:  My Japanese host and I walked around the monument and talked about how my father and his father were enemies all those years ago and how we now walked as friends.


The Labyrinth at Chartres:  For a thousand years pilgrims have walked this labyrinth and their footsteps have worn away the stone.  I was so pleased to add my steps to this remarkable place.


Inchmahome Priory, Scotland: I walked this bluebell path on my 65th birthday with my Scottish friends.  It was a magical experience I will never forget.


A life, it is said, isn't measured by the number of breaths you take but by how many moments take your breath away.  These were four breath taking moments for me.  I also have always love the St. Augustine quote: The world is a book and those who don't travel read only the first page.


I may not be travel all over the world now but it is good to know that breath taking moments lie close to home too.  I guess memorable moments are every where.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.