Signs and Wonders

Dear Diary,

Despite our frigid temperatures the sun is melting things and I delighted in seeing these odd icicles on  the front porch roof edge.  They are very thin and come in all sorts of strange formations...very artistic I thought.  Perhaps the wind helped to form them, I'm not sure, but I don't need to know the "how" to appreciate their shapes and delicacy.  They don't stay that way very long, this morning they are back to more normal shapes. It was a short lived phenomenon. 

A dear friend's mom died yesterday.  As I was writing about the birthday of my auntie Ruby quietly slipped away from this life.  When my friend called me to tell me the sad news she said that March 4th is the only date that is also a command, "March forth!"  She felt it so appropriate.  So did I. 

This morning when I woke up I heard the soft call of the mourning doves, the first time I've heard it this year and there was a tiny but very clear rainbow on the floor just outside my bedroom door.  Tiny, and most would say, insignificant occurrences but they lifted my heart from the sadness I felt for my friends loss.  Signs and wonders...they are all around us.  Whether they are "significant" or not is not the point.  Their point is to make us stop and wonder...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.