Not all as planned

I was very tired today. Not sure why! I even went back to bed after my coffee and blipping for yesterday. Just half an hour seemed to be worth it.
I then got ready and packed stuff for the party as we were going to Edinburgh to drop my car and then staying over until its time to go to the party.
Neil volunteered to pump up my tyres while I was having some breakfast.
I rushed down at 2 pm and no Neil in sight. Car was pumped up so I got in in order to find the battery flat! 
Neil arrived with his car and we jump started my Polo. Well - it started but as soon as we disconnected it died again. We tried a few times until I realised that the battery was not charging. Hmmm! Looked like the alternator was knackered. In the meantime it was half past 2 and getting late anyway to catch Donald in the garage. I phoned him to tell him. He was helpful and nice as always and we came together to the conclusion that it is indeed the alternator (remote diagnosis!).
So that was plan out of the window. Donald has still my other car (my mothers) in the garage and will get it sorted so that I can register it finally in UK (it's a German car) and we will see if someone wants to buy the Polo as is and takes it away. After some repair, I am sure it will run fine for another few years. It has only 77 k miles on the clock!
We will see.
Instead going back up (and back to bed ... which my first thought was!) Neil suggested to go for a coffee ... after all I had not been out of the house for 2 days!! So we walked to Papercup, who now have my favourite coffee in Glasgow.
We were back in the flat at 4:30 and got again ready to get to the East. We wanted to stop at Edinburgh Ikea as we needed a curtain rail and at Edinburgh Costco to get a salmon side for the party.
Halfway through Neil asked me to check the opening times of Costco! Well Edinburgh Costco closed at 6 pm .... ('Glasgow at 7 pm on a Saturday!) ... Doh! We realised we would not make that.
Ikea closed at 7 pm and we would only be there at 6:15 pm. But then there was no food (Neil didn't want to bring Ikea Salmon to the party!)
In the end we went to M&S food only to get something for the party. And the options were not great but therefore pricey..... 
We grabbed some antipasti and ended up early at the party. Something that rarely happens!
The party was great. A few other friends were around and it was lovely to catch up.
I also ate far too much nibbles and in the end even dared to eat some (a lot) not gluten free brownie that looked so amazing that I thought it would be worthwhile feeling a few hours crap the next morning!
It had so much sugar, that I wondered if my body would find the wheat at all. We will see!

We finally got home at 3 am - it's quite a drive and I went to bed after my obligatory cup of herbal tea.

The blip is Neil at Papercup.
I have not blipped a Neil portrait since a while :) and this is the only shot I took ....

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.