A touch of orange in the pink!

This little guy avoids coming to the elder tree when I have the window open so I had to blip him over the wall in the neighbour's flowering redcurrant bush watching the activity in the elder tree!

We were helping out at our club's orienteering event in Ilkley today.  Tony was on car parking duty and I was on registration.  It was a bit manic for the first hour because the Ilkley map has been extended on to Burley Moor so this meant that competitors had to catch a train from Ilkley to Burley and then hike up the hill to the start on Burley Moor.  There was a mini bus on hand for older competitors and helpers.  So as well as the usual queries, we had to cope with bus tickets and train tickets!

Our helping shift over, Tony and I hitched a lift on the mini bus to the start just as the rain began.  It was interesting to run on a bit of the moor that I've only walked across en route to Ilkley before.  It's privately owned and very much a grouse moor so it's to be hoped the owners are happy with today's event and allow us back in future.  It was soggy and muddy on the moor but an enjoyable course with good route choice and a mix of leg length.  I was slow and made a couple of errors so I'm happy with my rather low position of 21st out of 30.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.