Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Oddy

A soggy Sunday with the kids, our only excursion being a mile's walk down the hill to the DIY store, passing the best ghost sign in the village along the way.  Sam Oddy & Son were a decorating firm founded in the late 19th Century and trading until the 1940s, so the sign has some age. I've had a set of this one up in the other place for a while, like this one which shows the detail of the lower half of the sign.

Down at the store I stocked up on some painting supplies. I arrived in my new place in ignomious circumstances eighteen months ago, but was a tenant until this January when I somehow stumbled my way through the purchase of the house. I haven't touched a thing though, and I need to break the psychology of thinking I'm living in someone else's property and reconcile myself to the fact that this is now my home. A little superficial painting will make a start in that direction.

Back on my own again now, and a quiet evening in readiness for the week ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.