WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Cake-astrophe

Today I decided to get ahead and make a cake for choir practice while also making some for a cake sale next week in aid of people affected by the recent floods. There were some carrots languishing in the fridge, so carrot cake seemed like a good idea. There was some butter that needed using as well though, so instead of making my usual tried-and-tested oil-based recipe I made one with butter.

What a disaster! I don't even dare blip it for fear my hard-earned reputation of choir's champion cake baker would be destroyed. Somehow the butter separated from the other ingredients, and I ended up with flat, bubbly objects more like pancakes than cakes, sitting in pools of butter. Unfortunately I'd made double quantity and I hate wasting ingredients, but no way are these leaving the house! I ended up putting them all in a box and shoving it in the freezer in the hope that I might be able to hide them in trifle or something later. 

Luckily I also made a Belgian bun cake, using some of the orange curd I made with my left-over Seville oranges, and that looks a lot more convincing (blip). And now it's pasta e fagioli for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.