Hot Water Plants

Achimenes aka Hot Water Plants are summer flowering house plants.  They grow from these scaly rhizomes which are kind of caterpillar sized.  I let them dry off at the end of the summer and keep them in a cardboard box under the bed until late winter.  Today I tipped each pot out and gently teased out all the new rhizomes, each of the ones I planted producing up to ten new ones.  I will have plenty of spares so if you fancy growing some I will happily mail them out to anyone who sends a stamped addressed envelope/sticker with a 'large' stamp on it.
Just email me : thealpinehouse at hot mail dot co dot uk  
edited to remove surplus dot co ... thanks for spotting that Jamie :-)

They don't need hot water - just don't like it too cold.  
I have three different types.  Here is a link to a blip of one of them 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.