Another Item Off the Bucket List

Believe it or not...I have always wanted to be underneath an osprey when it raises its rear end to poop, and to catch the spray as it comes toward me. I positioned myself into what I thought was THE position, and...well...it happened.

My yellow shirt is now white, the deodorant I put on this morning was cancelled out by another smell, and my white hair is now a different shade of white. WOO-HOO!

It was a day of waiting, waiting on 3 different ospreys. According to my camera data...91 minutes I waited for osprey #1 to fly away...and then I got 5 garbage shots. 16 minutes I waited for osprey #2 to fly...then I got 4 garbage shots. (You see a pattern here?) Finally, I waited 33 minutes for osprey #3 (this guy) to poop. He/she came through.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/76781400@N06/albums/72157678774033062  See the fateful shot on my Flickr page, along with some other pictures of the 3 ospreys, some other shorebirds, and one cute Cocker Spaniel.

Disclaimer: I didn't cross this off my bucket list. I tried REAL hard to choose my position, but the shot missed me by 4 feet. (I must quit lying...especially on the Lord's Day.)

P.S. My girlfriend (wife) is returning to Florida tomorrow night...via a plane. A second WOO-HOO!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.