Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Skink snack

Early blip again to try for a couple of ant shots that I have in mind. Plenty of ants but didn't nail the shot. Plenty of time for this one though.

Plenty of material for a blip available today, a black bee in flight, but not that different to one a posted not so long ago. I will get something better of this huge creature soon. A nice orange butterfly, mating mosquitoes, but didn't nail it.

Missed a huge shot today, a small finch type bird flew into a spider web and got tangled, right in front of me not four feet away. In the second it took me to pull focus, it escaped, too bad but without focus, the shot would have had no impact. Fortunately for the bird, the web was an old abandoned golden orb weavers, had it been a current web, the bird would have been in dire trouble.

This was ironic as it was only a week or so ago that I was discussing golden orbs eating birds with another blipper, Deb I think. I expressed my doubts that one of these golden orb weavers could take a bird, I have now changed my opinion!

I snapped this skink on the pile of rocks, home to a herd of lizards. I got another shot with its mouth open, but I thought that the half chewed but added interest for the blip. The best of today's selections, I like it.

I was doing some midnight moving when I saw movement out of the corner of my eye. Maybe a scrap of paper in the breeze, but the air was still. I did see a rat a couple of days ago when I started the move, so it looks like the rat trap will be one of the first things to be unpacked.

More movement, so I investigated. Cancel the rat trap, I found a box of cats! A Momma cat with at least four kitties, maybe five. Their eyes are open, so Mom must have moved them here, but they are very young. I'm not up on my kitty biology, is it just dogs born with their eyes closed? The box has only been there for two days.

I have decided to leave them alone for now. Mom can move in and out of the house as the sliding concertina doors don't close, which is how she got in. The house is secured by a locked iron gate.

When they are a few days older, I will have a go at a kitty blip, as I know you like stuff like that, actually I do too, Should be fun!

Update - definitely five. Five different Dads by the look of them!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.