Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Frog

Interesting green striped frog, sitting on the tiles in front of the house. Its feet raised because of the extremely hot surface.

Taken in Cirangjang, the heat was quite unbearable. The temperature in my room rarely dropping below 27C and late afternoon topping 30C. Where I am staying now, in Bandung, the temperature rarely gets past 25C and in the night can drop to a chilly 18C. This is due to altitude, which is around 5,000ft – 1,500m.

The altitude caused me a lot of problems in the first month, as I suffered from sleep apnea, which is were the body forgets to breathe. I would wake up gasping for air. For several nights I was literally scared to death of sleeping, but sheer exhaustion solved that. After a couple of weeks, things improved and now in my third month, I no longer feel the apnea thing.

I read on the internet that 5,000 feet is the beginning of altitude sickness problems and so this explained everything. I was quite surprised, as previously I had been living at 900m for several years, with no problems and this was not a huge increase.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.