Two for the price of one

I came out to pick up my daughter from the Colonsay ferry which arrived at 5.10 - she had been over there for a few days.

I popped up to Pulpit Hill first, hoping to get a picture of the ferry sailing up the Sound of Kerrera into Oban Bay, but she didn't arrive and I waited and waited. Then out of the blue a ferry appeared - on the other side of Kerrera - and heading straight for the 'Loch Striven' which was emerging from the bay on her way to Lismore. So I got a rather grey picture of the pair.

Strangely she proved to be the 'Isle of Mull', which usually plies the route to and from . . . the Isle of Mull! I drove down to the terminal to find that the 'Isle of Lewis', moored up outside, was out of action, the 'Isle of Mull' was sailing the Colonsay run - and 25 minutes late into the bargain - and the 'Hebridean Isles' was on her way back from Craignure on the Isle of Mull! Some strange going-on - ferry, ferry strange!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.