Bill

I went out for a quick walk this afternoon to stretch the legs and called in to visit a neighbour as I hadn't seen him out and about lately with his golden retriever.

He was fine and told me many stories about his interesting life in the RAF volunteer reserve and as a glider pilot. The room was full of models - cars, buses and aircraft, including a wonderful Gloster Gladiator biplane which had been handmade for a friend. His widow had given it to him after her husband's death. He had many original paintings on his walls, several of aircraft, and I noticed this small RAF trainer among the Spitfires. He told me that he was given the opportunity to fly this Scottish Aviation Bulldog and a friend who was an artist as well as a pilot painted it for him, showing him in the pilot's seat!

A fascinating life! The picture isn't quite sharp I'm afraid, being taken on my Sony bridge  without flash.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.