Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Tiny blossoms

This morning I spotted a large green woodpecker feeding on our lawn. We get them from time to time and I have never managed to get a photo of one - well, let's be honest here, I have never managed to get a photo of any bird in my garden! I did not bother picking up my camera as I knew it would fly off by the time I got downstairs, but when I noticed it was still there about 15 minutes later I quickly went downstairs and stealthily crept to the part of the house with big glass doors so I could take a photo through them....but then realised that this was a new species of woodpecker, one that Darwin would have been pleased to discover as it has adapted to its urban environment so well - it had eyes at the back of his head as despite having its back to me and busy gorging itself on the grubs in my lawn, it must have seen me because as I lifted the camera it flew off! Hmphh!

Murdoch hates this time of year for our walks, as no sooner do we set off, I am stopping to take photos as I ooh and aah at the blossoms and spring bulbs that are everywhere. Its not as if I have not seen them before, I take photos of them every year but every year it is as if it is the first time I am seeing them and I am so delighted to do so. After a stop-start walk he gets his own back, just when I am crouching down and have finally found the best position to get the best composition, he jerks hard on the lead which is looped over my arm and I go tumbling over. Many a dog walker has seen me sprawled in the undergrowth as Murdoch has pulled me over!

I started watching SS-GB last night - lately the BBC seem to cast male leads who mumble and the dialogue is inaudible. Not a fan of Sam Riley but I will stick with it to see where it goes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.