Plus ça change...

By SooB

Bergamote

All work and no play makes SooB a dull blipper.

Busy day, including a too-early trip to the airport and à school meeting with TallGirl for careers guidance that was pointless -apparently she has no worries (did he ask her?)

Here's a couple of rude looking French lemons on my great grannie's cake plate. As a strict Methodist, I feel sure she'd disapprove. But then I doubt she'd approve of any of the rest of my life either. (Maybe apart from the cakes...) Here they are called bergamote lemons, and they have a wonderful flavour.

At some point I will turn these (along with their friends) into curd for the most epic lemon meringue pies, but not today. My current task-master has me hard at work. Fortuitously his meeting today occurred when I had to illegally be at school to (bizarrely) provide wording for French letters (stop sniggering). My ideas were considered hilariously subversive and - to my surprise - adopted. Finally, now the school is a bit in trouble, they are listening and stirring things up.

Anyway, lots of shock and awe today, including from the kids - both of whom I managed to have massive fights with this afternoon. To no-one's surprise, all their anger was forgotten when it was time for me to provide taxi services, dinner and TV.

I'm awarding myself an early night with a book. The ironing can wait. Sadly my new boss can't, but I will try for an outdoor blip tomorrow (pouring all day today).

I may also be writing an invoice tomorrow. So that's nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.