But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Lone Beech Leaf.

I went out to fill the car up and lay in a stock of bird food this morning while Mrs TD paid the doctor a visit, nothing too serious. I had forgotten that she was going out and returned to find myself locked out; it was rather an unusual occurrence as I normally take a house key with me. I was somewhat annoyed that she hadn’t checked that my key wasn’t in its usual place before locking me out. Anyway, I sat in the car listening to the radio for a while and eventually decided to go for a coffee which was, of course, the precise moment Herself chose to re-appear. Experience tells me not to cast blame until I have established irrefutably where it lies which was fortunate as, when I took my jacket off and was able to get my hand into my trouser pockets, I found my key. Although most members of my peer group have similar problems, I still find their regular occurrence rather un-nerving.
 
The Old Lady, in her later years had serious issues on this front; since she had so many carers and helpers coming into the house, to avoid putting temptation in their way, used to hide things – like her purse and bank cards. Consequently, no one could ever find them – least of all herself. Her affliction went a little further in that several of her close friends had suffered serious accidents. Two sisters had, apparently, died in a gas explosion that had destroyed their home and it wasn’t until she received a Christmas card from them that she believed us that the accident had not happened. I managed to work out that, since she was suffering from macular degeneration, she was very nearly blind while her dreams were as clear as they had ever been; this led her to believe her very realistic dreams rather than the hazy reality. After that Christmas, if she “remembered” anything that was particularly unlikely, she assumed that it was only a dream and would ask about it later – if she remembered.
 
In recognition of Tiny Tuesday, I popped out to one of my secret places and blipped this tiny vestige of last autumn though the breeze made sure that it wouldn't keep still for me; I think it’s on a beech tree but will find out PDQ if I’m wrong. Thanks are due to Freyjad for hosting this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.